What Is It?

We keep seeing these puzzle games showing up as the free app of the week. Like Dropflip and Linia, your goal here is to figure out the pattern. Along the way, you’ll need to avoid some obstacles.

The game has a cute backstory about futuristic life forms and helping them. The graphics are gorgeous, and the sound is addicting. Beyond those features, it’s boring as all get out. In this game, it’s more about moving your finger quickly than puzzle solving. Time’s running against you, and I think that defeats the purpose of a puzzle game. It felt more like an auto-runner than any puzzle game I’ve played. Instead of jumping the obstacles, you just side-step them.

Who Is It Good For?

People, who are so bored they’re reading toothpaste tubes or the back of cereal boxes? I always try to play a game for at least half an hour before reviewing it, but it was torture here. I moved the dot and avoided some obstacles. Yawn. I didn’t have much of a puzzle or pattern to figure out. I just had to move my finger quickly. I wanted to be engaged; the game couldn’t keep my interest.

Reading the reviews, I’m not alone, in my opinion. You either love or hate this game, it seems.  The sound and graphics dress up a game with no real point or challenge.

Should You Download It?

The app takes up about 154MB. I might keep it around for the soundtrack, but not the game. If you’re interested in following a bouncing ball (or watching paint dry), you’ll love this game. Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

Nightgate is Apple s Free iTunes App of the Week - 41Nightgate is Apple s Free iTunes App of the Week - 55Nightgate is Apple s Free iTunes App of the Week - 96Nightgate is Apple s Free iTunes App of the Week - 86Nightgate is Apple s Free iTunes App of the Week - 17